T.H.U.R.S. #1

Phases of Life, Consumption Smoothing and Ultra Marathons

Hola and welcome to The Summit, my biweekly newsletter where I share my unfiltered thoughts on navigating the peaks and valleys of adulthood.

My mission is to question everything, grow every day and have fun along the way. The Summit’s mission is to invite you to do the same.

Today: T.H.U.R.S. #1

Note: I am experimenting with a new structure for my Thursday newsletter: T.H.U.R.S. Let me know what you think :)

Thoughts

  • Something Light:

Compliments stick! I had someone pay me the smallest compliment the other day (that they were impressed watching me run 🤣) and it had me smiling for hours. It was the best reminder that the smallest of comments can have such an impact. It is so easy to do, so why not do it more?

  • Something Heavy:

Life can be broken down into phases. For example, the high-school phase, the early twenties phase, your late twenties, the early-marriage phase… then all of the old ones (just kidding).

And the reality is, that some activities can only be done in certain phases of your life (generally). You can go work a season in Ibiza when your 20, but probably not in your first year as a parent. Similarly, you can represent your school and play organised sports every Saturday in high school, but not as easily when you start adulting.

So what activities are there, that belong in this phase of your life, that you’re putting off? You’re not getting any younger.

Highlight

My favourite thing I learnt this week: Consumption Smoothing

I was listening to an episode of Modern Wisdom with Bill Perkins, author of the best seller, ‘Die With Zero’. I would highly recommend listening to this episode and forming your own opinion. Some of his suggestions can come off a little extreme but overall, I loved it.

One of the most interesting concepts he explained was Consumption Smoothing:

“Our incomes might vary from one month or one year to another, but that doesn't mean our spending should reflect those variations. We would be better off if we evened out those variations. To do that, we need to basically transfer money from years of abundance into the leaner years.”

Because our income will most likely increase overtime, he suggests that we spend more now because we will have more than enough later (preventing over-saving and under-living). It is an interesting take because it is almost banking on the certainty of your future income...

To back his argument, he explains how currently, he would trade a huge percentage of his wealth to go back and take that ski trip with his mates - the trip that he turned down in his twenties because he wanted to save a couple grand… interesting fuel for thought.

This follows every broke traveller’s motto: money comes back, memories/time doesn’t. Maybe they’re onto something 🤷‍♂️.

Uplift

Something uplifting that I stumbled across and want to share: An old TikTok of mine🤣 

When life gives you lemons (painful falls), you can always make lemonade (hilarious compilations):

@gabriboo992

Ski Fernie 🫡 #fernie #professionalsnowboarders #livelaughlove

Reflect:

A question I asked myself this week (prompted from Bill Perkins):

❓️Right now, if I could, would I swap places with Warren Buffet? Why?

💁‍♂️ Nope. Because time > money. No amount of money can buy back the years of your life.

Summit:

A discomfort challenge I set myself: Run 50km 🤡.

Yes, that’s right I decided to run 50kms on Tuesday. I could say it was to Seek Discomfort, to follow in Ned’s footsteps, or to earn all the beers I plan on drinking this weekend (I have a wedding), but really, I just thought it would be a fun challenge! Call me crazy, but I love the feeling of pushing boundaries and going one more ;)

Next week’s goal: 100kms

Jokes! I think I’ll keep it easy and challenge myself to read every night before bed. Even if it’s just one-page, imperfect action > no action. Feel free to join 😄.

If you enjoyed this article, please feel free to share it with a friend who might also enjoy it; and if you’re the friend, feel free to subscribe here 🙃!

As always, if you have any feedback, you can respond to this email! I’d love to hear what you think :)

Reply

or to participate.