T.H.U.R.S. #11

Reminders, The Life Curve, Rappelling!

Hola and welcome to The Summit, my biweekly newsletter where I share my unfiltered thoughts on navigating the peaks and valleys of adulthood.

My mission is to question everything, grow every day and have fun along the way. The Summit’s mission is to invite you to do the same.

Today: T.H.U.R.S. #11

Thoughts:

  • Something light:

A little gem here from Alex Hormozi:

Often times we already know what to do. Whether it is a gut feeling, or it is advice you give other people all the time. But for some reason you ‘forget’ when it is about you.

For example, how often do you get great advice from friends/family that you had actually already thought of?

Let’s say you are worried about trying something new. You don’t need to be taught about all the benefits of pushing your comfort zone, because you probably already know them (especially if you have read Seek Discomfort 😁). You just need a little reminder/encouragement to help you break through.

So, next time you are in a pickle, try to tap into your own mind - I am sure there’s a heap of gold in there that can help you out. Remind yourself!

  • Something heavy:

I love this tweet (wow, look at me discovering Twitter 🤣)!

There is always going to be someone or something better… always.

  • You’re an aspiring 22-year-old basketball athlete, trying to make your break in Australia’s NBL, and you compare yourself to 17yr old US phenom Cooper Flag

  • You’re an entrepreneur working around the clock on your startup, and you compare yourself to 15-year-old Destiny Snow raking in millions…

  • Or maybe you have no idea what you want to do with your life and compare yourself to your peers who seem to have it ‘all figured it out’…

  • You could literally be Mark Cuban (net worth 5.7 billion USD) and compare yourself to Elon Musk (net worth 248 billion USD)… there is always a bigger fish!

If you pin your success/happiness against someone else’s, you will never ever be satisfied. Comparison is the thief of joy. The grass is always greener where you water it.

Highlights:

My favourite thing I learnt this week: It gets worse first

In Graham’s words:

Our brains are programmed for comfort and immediate gratification, but this approach rarely yields sustainable success. When you’re considering making a positive change in your life, it’s crucial to accept that things will almost always get worse before they get better. If you can push through this initial difficulty and fear — “doing hard things” and making positive changes will become increasingly easier. Everything you want is on the other side of “worse first.”

Graham Weaver

In my words (my takeaway):

Things will always get worse before they get better. Anytime you want to make a change in your life, whether that be in your career, health, or relationships, the initial shock will be uncomfortable. You will likely be under skilled and a bit of a noob. But the best part about it: the more you experience these ‘dips’ the shallower they become.

Every time you make an uncomfortable change, the less scary they become and the better you become at bouncing back.

Ebbs and flows. Swings and roundabouts. Ups and downs… they are inevitable but also predictable!

Graham’s Graph

Uplift:

Something uplifting that I stumbled across and want to share: NEDD BROCKMANN

I didn’t want to repeat from last week, but I just have to… because Nedd has finished!!! Watching him complete this feat has been incredible. The video he shared yesterday, after completing 1000 miles around the track, gives another tiny glimpse into what he has accomplished:

We will never truly understand what he has endured over the last 10 days. Absolute insanity. Not to mention the 2.5 million he has raised for the homeless 💪.

Safe to say he is my number #1 man crush right now.

Reflect:

A question I asked myself this week:

❓️What am I afraid of? Why? Is it reasonable?

💁‍♂️ I asked myself this question because I am thinking of making some cute little videos to put a face behind a lot of the ideas I talk about in this newsletter - and I am terrified!

💁‍♂️I am so afraid to be judged by others, but when I breakdown the ‘why’, I can see that it is totally unreasonable, and I should just send it 😎 (watch this space).

Summit:

A challenge I set myself: Rappelling!

One of my friends is a great climber and kindly offered to take me out rappelling this week (aka abseiling)! It was my first time trying something like this: putting my life in the hands of tiny bolts and ropes while throwing myself off the side of a cliff - FUN!

I made another cutesy TikTok to show how it went:

Let this be a reminder to try new things and push your comfort zone - you always feel fantastic after (or at least I do) 😊.

The challenge this week: REELS!

I am writing this to hold myself accountable. Like I just mentioned, I think one of the next steps for ‘The Summit’ will be posting cute little videos on insta. So, the goal for the week is to start 💪.

If you enjoyed this article, please feel free to share it with a friend who might also enjoy it; and if you’re the friend, feel free to subscribe here 🙃!

As always, if you have any feedback, you can respond to this email! I’d love to hear what you think :)

Reply

or to participate.