Minimalism

A letter to myself

Hola and welcome to The Summit, my weekly newsletter where I share my unfiltered thoughts on navigating the peaks and valleys of adulthood. From health and relationships to productivity and purpose, consider this newsletter a collection of naive wisdom from a 20-something year old summiting the mountain of life.

Today: My take on Minimalism

I wrote some notes down on this topic a couple months ago, thinking I was quite a minimalist, but I have got to say, #VanLife has given me a whole new perspective 🫠.

As I have mentioned (a few times now I know 😅), my girlfriend and I have spent the last three weeks vanning around the South Island of New Zealand. Looking back, as I am waiting in the airport now, the level of ‘minimalism’ we were able to achieve sits somewhere between epic and disgusting 🤣 - let me explain…

  • 1 x Jacket

  • 1 x Hoodie

  • 3 x Shirts

  • 1 x Pants

  • 1 x Sweatpants (the North American lingo is rubbing off on me 🤢)

  • 1 x Shorts

  • 10 x Underwear (maybe TMI - sorry)

  • 3 x Socks

  • 1 x Shoes (plus 1 x slides)

  • 1 x Hat

  • 1 x Beanie

That’s it. That’s all I used in three weeks. My bag weighed 11kgs. I know some hardcore hippies would say I overpacked, but I think I did pretty damn good. Especially in comparison to the 30kg backpack I took to Europe last year:

Now obviously, this level of ‘minimalism’ is not sustainable, so what am I getting at here? Well, the answer is, I think I have too much sh*t. If I can live off three shirts, why do I have near 50 in my closet at home?

I think this is something we all struggle with. If it’s not clothes, it’s shoes, books, bikes (I see you dad) or surfboards (couldn’t be me 🤥).

So today, similar to my article, FOMO to JOMO, I want to share a little research assignment I set myself on minimalism:

Minimalism: Your Sanity or Your Stuff? 

We're bombarded with stuff. Everywhere we turn, there's another ad promising happiness wrapped in a sleek package - a fancy new bag, the latest tech or ANOTHER pair of shoes. Society whispers (or shouts) that more stuff equals more success, more fun, a more fulfilling life. But lately, a different philosophy has been gaining traction: minimalism. 

Contrary to what you may think, minimalism isn't about living in a bare box with nothing but a spork (although, hey, no judgement if that's your jam). At its core, it's about intentionally living with only the things you need and love. It's a shift in focus from accumulation to experience. It’s finally dealing with the mountain of "maybe-one-day-I'll-use-this" shoved in the back of the closet? So, let’s break it down: 

 

The Challenges 

  • Letting Go is Hard: We all have that schoolies T-shirt that 'holds memories'. Or a formal suit that we swear we will use again one day (it is now 5 sizes too small). Or even our first phones and laptops for the nostalgia. These items might not spark joy at first, but letting go can be surprisingly difficult and sometimes emotional. If you’re REALLY concerned that it holds memories, take a picture of it. I’m sure that’ll work just fine! 

  • The Pressure to Conform: Our culture glorifies "stuff." Keeping up with the Joneses can be tempting, and minimalism can feel downright radical. Be prepared for raised eyebrows from friends and questions like, "But what if you need that for...?" 

 

The Rewards of Minimalism 

  • Less Stuff, Less Stress: Imagine a life where cleaning takes half the time and finding your things isn't an Olympic sport. Minimalism frees up physical and mental space, allowing you to focus on what truly matters. 

  • A Lighter Financial Load: Less stuff means less to buy, maintain, and insure. This can free up cash for travel, experiences, or simply a financial safety net. 

  • Spark Joy in Unexpected Places: Minimalism isn't just about getting rid of stuff, it's also about appreciating the things you keep. Taking the time to declutter allows you to rediscover items you forgot you had, and truly appreciate the quality and functionality of what remains. Suddenly, that favourite mug becomes more than just a container for coffee, it becomes a little piece of joy you use every morning. 

  • Boosts Creativity: A cluttered environment can be mentally draining. By minimizing your surroundings, you create a blank canvas for creativity to flourish. Less visual clutter allows for more focus and mental space to generate new ideas and explore your passions. 

  • Sustainability: By consuming less, you reduce your environmental impact. Less stuff means less is manufactured, shipped, and ultimately ends up in landfills. Plus, donating or selling unwanted items gives them a second life, reducing overall waste.

 

Making Minimalism Work for You 

Minimalism isn't a one-size-fits-all approach. The key is to find what works for you. Here are some tips to get you started: 

  • Start Small: Don't overwhelm yourself by tackling your entire apartment in one go. Start with a drawer, a shelf, or even a digital detox of your phone. 

  • Ask Yourself the Hard Questions: Does this item bring me joy? Have I used it in the past year? If the answer is no, thank it for its service (not literally 🙄) and let it go. 

  • Splurge on Key Items: Invest in the few things that are worth keeping around.  Spend a couple hundred on a few items of nice quality clothing and ditch the rest (specifically socks and underwear – get rid of the ones with holes in them, seriously). Buy one good water bottle and carry it around with you everywhere (just not a Stanley please)! 

  • Focus on Experiences: Instead of spending money on things, invest in experiences that create memories. A concert ticket, a weekend camping trip, a cooking class – these are investments in memories that will live long after the initial fun. 

So, give it a shot. Pull out the box in the back of your cupboard and start there – you don't need every birthday card you have ever gotten... 

 

Further thoughts: 

One of the first recommendations in Scott Pape's Barefoot Investor, is to create a 'MOJO' bank account.  That is, a safety net account with $2000 in case of emergency.  This is not easy to do.  But his suggestion is to start by selling all the things you don't need (become a Facebook Marketplace weapon 🤑).  So, I challenge you, how much money can you put away right now by becoming a minimalist? 

 

Final notes to myself:

  • One water bottle will do.

  • Two surfboards will do 🥹.

  • NO NEED FOR 30 PAIRS OF SOCKS.

  • I don’t need four backpacks.

  • Why do I still have my high school basketball shoes? I haven’t played in four years. Runners will do for my bi-annual appearance at the local park.

  • Why do I still have my GIANT teddy bear from when I was a child?

  • Don’t take it the wrong way, I still think it is nice to keep a memory box with little trinkets - just not five boxes.

If you enjoyed this article, please feel free to share it with a friend who might also enjoy it; and if you’re the friend, feel free to subscribe here 🙃!

Like always, if you have any feedback, you can respond to this email! I’d love to hear what you think :)

Reply

or to participate.