T.H.U.R.S. #2

The Crown of Health, Imperfect Action and Vitamin N

Hola and welcome to The Summit, my biweekly newsletter where I share my unfiltered thoughts on navigating the peaks and valleys of adulthood.

My mission is to question everything, grow every day and have fun along the way. The Summit’s mission is to invite you to do the same.

Today: T.H.U.R.S. #2

Thoughts

  • Something light:

Tell people you love them. I was speaking to someone this week about the fragility of life. This person is very wise (or at least I think so) and he gave me the most simple but powerful piece of advice —to tell people you love them. He explained how you never know what is coming around the corner but what you do know is how much you love your friends, family etc, so make sure they know it too. Similarly, TIUP spoke about how they are starting to tell each other they love them every time they say goodbye. So, tell people how you feel!

  • Something heavy:

“Health is the crown on the well person’s head that only the sick can see” - Robin Sharma

Everyone knows someone who is sick, has been sick or will be sick. Its f*cking awful but it’s true. So, I wanted to share this quote form Robin Sharma that always reminds me to appreciate and acknowledge the crown on my head.

Highlights

My favourite thing I learnt this week: Imperfect Action  

Full disclosure, I didn’t actually learn about this concept this week, but I was reminded of it when I sat down to write this article. I even mentioned it last week when I set myself the challenge to read one page before bed every night.

Yes, reading one page every day sounds pointless - it could take over a year to finish a book - but it’s not about the single page. It is about opening the book. Because nine times out of ten, you’ll get to the end of the page and actually want to know what comes next, and before you know it, you’ve read the chapter.

Really, it is a way of tricking your mind to build strong habits. If you tell yourself you are going to read a chapter, it might sound like a lot and you probably won’t be motivated to do it, but one page… easy! And that one page builds the momentum for you to keep going.

But the real beauty of it - in my opinion - is that you can literally just do one page. That’s okay. Because, as long as you do something you are building consistency and forming the habit of reading before bed.

WIN WIN right!?

It is all about making ‘getting started’ easy and attractive (think Atomic Habits). And this can be applied to any task. For example, when I sat down to write today, I told myself I would just write down ideas. But very quickly, the momentum picked up and here I am adding my finishing touches!

So, if you are putting something off, commit to giving it five minutes of your time. Just five minutes. Start there.

Uplift:

Something uplifting that I stumbled across and want to share: Vitamin N

I have mentioned Vitamin N in previous articles, but I wanted to highlight it today. Not sure if I would class this as uplifting but ladies and gents, I give you Eliud Kipchoge (GOAT marathoner):

Reflect:

A question I asked myself this week:

❓️ When is the next time I will be here?

💁‍♂️ I was privileged to be celebrating a very special wedding of close friends at Hayman Island this past weekend. And to say I woke up feeling dusty afterwards is understatement. There was a trail that went around the island that I planned to do but did NOT feel like doing. But I asked myself that question, and the answer was: probably not for a long time. So, I set out, dusty as can be, and found the coolest hammock in the middle of nowhere.

💁‍♂️ Let this be a sign to always ask yourself if/when you will be back - especially when travelling - and get after it.

Summit

A challenge I set myself: Self-Control 

At the wedding, there were the most amazing buffet meals and drinks going around. The challenge I set myself was to control myself in these buffet situations. Safe to say, I failed. Sorry team, maybe next time.

The challenge this week, is to tell my mates I love them; AND to try make them feel as uncomfortable as possible when doing so ;).

If you enjoyed this article, please feel free to share it with a friend who might also enjoy it; and if you’re the friend, feel free to subscribe here 🙃!

As always, if you have any feedback, you can respond to this email! I’d love to hear what you think :)

Reply

or to participate.