T.H.U.R.S. #5

The Fig Tree, Gen Z, Trail to Ale

Hola and welcome to The Summit, my biweekly newsletter where I share my unfiltered thoughts on navigating the peaks and valleys of adulthood.

My mission is to question everything, grow every day and have fun along the way. The Summit’s mission is to invite you to do the same.

Today: T.H.U.R.S. #5

Thoughts:

  • Something light:

Finding forms of exercise you enjoy.

Everyone knows the importance of exercise. For the body, for the mind, for your mood, everything! Yet not everyone is able to ‘find the time’ to exercise…

I used to think that these people who ‘couldn’t find time’ were just giving lame excuses (which can be the case), but what I failed to understand (as a 19-year-old gym bro) was that most people don’t love going to the gym every week.

Sure, it’s fun for the first few years (getting newbie gains and making quick progress) but what I have started to learn lately, is that it’s not my favourite way to stay fit or healthy.

Since discovering the wonderful world of snowboarding, surfing, biking, calisthenics, hiking, running etc, I have found myself fitter than ever and having more fun than I ever did in the gym (sorry gym bros).

So, my thought here is that if you can find a form of exercise that you enjoy, keeping fit can be easy peasy (almost the same way people say ‘if you enjoy your job, you’ll never work a day in your life’). Don’t dread the gym, hit the trails instead, start dancing, do yoga, whatever floats your boat.

Oh, and be dynamic! Acknowledge changes of interest and go with the flow. It took me ages to transition from full gym bro to the random side quests I am doing now (I wish I transitioned sooner)! 

  • Something heavy:

The Fig Tree.

I haven’t read The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, but a friend of mine sent me a famous quote from the book (it’s a little meaty):

“I saw my life branching out before me like the green fig tree in the story. From the tip of every branch, like a fat purple fig, a wonderful future beckoned and winked. One fig was a husband and a happy home and children, and another fig was a famous poet and another fig was a brilliant professor, and another fig was Ee Gee, the amazing editor, and another fig was Europe and Africa and South America, and another fig was Constantin and Socrates and Attila and a pack of other lovers with queer names and offbeat professions, and another fig was an Olympic lady crew champion, and beyond and above these figs were many more figs I couldn't quite make out. I saw myself sitting in the crotch of this fig tree, starving to death, just because I couldn't make up my mind which of the figs I would choose. I wanted each and every one of them, but choosing one meant losing all the rest, and, as I sat there, unable to decide, the figs began to wrinkle and go black, and, one by one, they plopped to the ground at my feet."

Sylvia Plath

Nearly everyone can relate to the fig tree, the paralyzing feeling of indecision and the worry that every choice you make closes the door to ten others…

But the reality is, we are never going to be able to do everything. I can’t live out my ski-bum dream and build a successful career at the same time (if you know how please let me know). And that’s okay. The sooner I can accept that, the sooner I can enjoy the path I choose. It almost seems like choosing to be grateful over greedy.

Ultimately, the way I interpret this quote is that picking any of the branches (opportunities in life) will be better than picking nothing (staying on the fence and spending your time worrying about making the wrong decision). It comes back to the paradox of choice.

The fig tree also reminds me that the grass is always greener where you water it!

Highlights:

My favourite thing I learnt this week: Gen Z trends in the workplace.

This topic is so interesting and can often lead to heated debates around the table (IYKYK). But first, who is Gen Z?

Dates vary between sources, but Gen Z is generally considered to be people born between 1995 and 2010 → 30% of the world’s current population and almost 27% of the workforce!

And as us youngins have entered the workforce there have been clear emerging trends. I know everyone has different takes on whether these trends are positive or negative but it’s clear that they are here to stay:

  1. Gen Z’s have a greater focus on work/life balance.

    • They are more likely to prioritise ‘living’, mental health or enjoyment over a salary.

    • Of all generations so far, they are the least motivated by salary.

  2. Gen Z’s have strong values and want to feel like they are making a difference.

    • Companies will need to demonstrate commitment to societal challenges, e.g. climate change/sustainability, so employees feel like they are making a positive impact.

  3. Gen Z’s are more likely to freelance or pursue entrepreneurial ventures.

    • It is more possible than ever with platforms like Fiver and Upwork.

  4. Gen Z’s are likely to expect flexible working arrangements and clear career development pathways.

    • Post pandemic work from home arrangements are becoming the norm and are highly valued by Gen Z’s.

Interesting trends hey!? Personally, I think I fit every point almost to a T 😆.

So, what do you think? Are we a snowflake generation, or do we have it all right?

Further reading:

Uplift:

Something uplifting that I stumbled across and want to share: Nedd’s uncomfortable challenge and his world record run.

If anyone doesn’t know Nedd Brockman, you should! He is an aussie legend who became famous for running across Australia in 46 days… averaging almost 100km’s per day. Why? To raise money for a cause close to his heart: homelessness.

His next challenge is wild: break the world record for the fastest time to run 1000 miles… 10 days.

But that is not the only challenge. Nedd’s uncomfortable challenge aims to raise more money for homelessness by encouraging everyone to do something uncomfortable over the same 10 days that he sets out to do his run. Check it out!

@nedd.brockmann

October 3rd 2024, I’ll be attempting to break the world record for the fastest time to cover 1000 miles (1610km) on foot, while aiming to ... See more

Reflect:

A question I asked myself this week:

❓️Will this pass in five years?

💁‍♂️ Yes, yes it will. ‘This too, shall pass’.

💁‍♂️Whatever I am stressed about right now, whatever decisions I am weighing up will all be a distant memory in five years!

Summit:

A challenge I set myself: Trail to Ale (a bike ride I had no business doing).

This week was a funny one. I was convinced (easily) to join in doing the ‘Trail to Ale’, a challenge set be the local brewery to summit three of the most difficult biking trails in the city within 24 hours. Roughly 50kms of mountain biking and 1300 metres of elevation gain. Why? To earn a free beer! And a sticker!

The top of the final trail - Swine Flu

Post game report: fell down the trail, impaled myself with the handlebars (exaggeration) and saw a moose! With minimal mountain biking experience, I must admit I am pleasantly surprised with how unscathed I am. Safe to say the beer and sticker were well worth it!

MOOSE (we were riding away to fast to get a good pic)

The challenge this week: run that some trail! I can get another sticker and beer 🤙. I also didn’t get the chance to complete last week’s challenge, speed running Mt Fernie, so I’ll do that too 💪.

Get after it and enjoy the rest of your weekend!

XOXO Gabe.

If you enjoyed this article, please feel free to share it with a friend who might also enjoy it; and if you’re the friend, feel free to subscribe here 🙃!

As always, if you have any feedback, you can respond to this email! I’d love to hear what you think :)

Reply

or to participate.